Downbeat announces 2012 Critics Poll Winners

Downbeat Magazine released the complete list of the 2012 Critics Poll winners in their July issue. The 2012 poll was decided by 186 critics from around the globe. The Downbeat Poll is the most comprehensive poll in the jazz world, with results that show more than 1,000 artists or acts receiving votes in 62 categories. Vijay Iyer, Maria Schneider, and Christian McBride were among those winning in multiple categories.


Hall of Fame: Paul Motian
Veterans Committee Hall of Fame: Gene Ammons and Sonny Stitt
Jazz Artist: Vijay Iyer
Jazz Album: Vijay Iyer Trio, Accelerando (ACT)
Historical Album: Miles Davis Quintet, Live In Europe 1967: The Bootleg Series, Vol. 1 (Columbia/Legacy)
Jazz Group: Vijay Iyer Trio
Big Band: Maria Schneider Orchestra
Trumpet: Ambrose Akinmusire
Trombone: Wycliffe Gordon
Soprano Saxophone: Branford Marsalis
Alto Saxophone: Rudresh Mahanthappa
Tenor Saxophone: Sonny Rollins
Baritone Saxophone: Gary Smulyan
Clarinet: Anat Cohen
Flute: Nicole Mitchell
Piano: Vijay Iyer
Keyboard: Herbie Hancock
Organ: Joey DeFrancesco
Guitar: Bill Frisell
Bass: Christian McBride
Electric Bass: Christian McBride
Violin: Regina Carter
Drums: Jack DeJohnette
Vibes: Bobby Hutcherson
Percussion: Zakir Hussain
Miscellaneous Instrument: Béla Fleck (banjo)
Male Vocalist: Kurt Elling
Female Vocalist: Cassandra Wilson
Composer: Maria Schneider
Arranger: Maria Schneider
Record Label: ECM
Producer: Manfred Eicher
Blues Artist or Group: Dr. John
Blues Album: Otis Taylor, Otis Taylor’s Contraband (Telarc)
Beyond Artist or Group: Robert Glasper Experiment
Beyond Album: Robert Glasper Experiment, Black Radio (Blue Note)


Rising Star Jazz Artist: Robert Glasper
Rising Star Jazz Group: Robert Glasper Trio
Rising Star Big Band: Darcy James Argue’s Secret Society
Rising Star Trumpet: Avishai Cohen
Rising Star Trombone: Josh Roseman
Rising Star Soprano Saxophone: Marcus Strickland
Rising Star Alto Saxophone: David Binney
Rising Star Tenor Saxophone: Anat Cohen
Rising Star Baritone Saxophone: Greg Tardy
Rising Star Clarinet: Evan Christopher
Rising Star Flute: Jamie Baum
Rising Star Piano: Robert Glasper
Rising Star Keyboard: Hiromi
Rising Star Organ: Mike LeDonne
Rising Star Guitar: Julian Lage
Rising Star Bass: Linda Oh
Rising Star Electric Bass: Derrick Hodge
Rising Star Violin: Jason Kao Hwang
Rising Star Drums: Marcus Gilmore
Rising Star Vibes: Chris Dingman
Rising Star Percussion: Dan Weiss
Rising Star Miscellaneous Instrument: Gary Versace (accordion)
Rising Star Male Vocalist: Giacomo Gates
Rising Star Female Vocalist: René Marie
Rising Star Composer: Vijay Iyer
Rising Star Arranger: John Hollenbeck
Rising Star Producer: Jeff Gauthier

One Reply to “Downbeat announces 2012 Critics Poll Winners”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *